Reviews

8.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.8
Comfort
7.9
Property location
9.1
Facilities
7.9
Staff
8.8
Value
8.5

Reviews

    Josue
    ec

    Review score

    8.8
    25 April 2018

    Had everything we needed

    Wifi signal wasn't always great. You need to wake owners up to get in the hotel after dark.
    Room had everything that was needed. And it was clean. Staff was nice and helped out in anything needed. Always greeted everyone kindly. Rooms had AC, hot water, and ok wifi. And it's location is perfect, 1 block away from the Malecon. It's also close to restaurants, bars, shops, etc.
    japanese traveller
    jp

    Review score

    8.3
    1 February 2018
    none
    good location,clean room.nice!
    Juan Carlo
    ec

    Review score

    8.3
    4 November 2017
    Good location, close to the new riverside (malecón), the Amazonic Park (island in the river), and other points of interest. Amazing lemon grass soap :)
    Matthew
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    3 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Dansktex
    us

    Review score

    6.2
    28 September 2017

    Be Prepared to be Cheated on the Room Rate

    Water stands almost a cm deep in shower stall. Sink is very low and slants so that soap won't stay on edge. WiFi slow--phone calls end abruptly and Netflix films pause regularly. But WORST: The hotel cheats in charging guests. Tourists from other countries do not have to pay the national I.V.A. tax. The hotel charged me $45.05 which was the booking.com rate plus BOTH taxes, but their receipt shows that the hotel was paying only the local tax and keeping the national tax. What the hotel kept for themselves was several dollars more than what booking.com said I would owe for the room BEFORE taxes. They don't speak English, so it was too complicated to try to question the situation. But I have my receipt as proof.
    Quiet. Across the street from a good rafting company. Mostly clean, although I found my feet getting little dirty. Provided both soap and shampoo. Sheets changed regularly.
    Mark Bourne
    nz

    Review score

    7.1
    29 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    nl

    Review score

    6.7
    15 August 2017

    Not in the center of town

    They showed the wrong location on the map, so the hostel is not in the city-center. The rooms are very noisy
    There is a very good and cheap Italian restaurant in the area !!
    Charlotte
    de

    Review score

    9.2
    15 July 2017

    Very good quality for your money

    Don't expect to meet other travellers, it's more a hotel than a hostal.
    Decent clean rooms with own bathroom, tv and fan for very good price. owners were very friendly and helpfull, they even asked me along with a family trip when I was stuck in Tena for an extra day.
    Lioba Pause
    ec

    Review score

    8.8
    12 July 2017
    Some matrazess were quite old and thin and overall its been a bit pricey for what was offered. But we did enjoy our stay there.
    The staff was super friendly and warm. Although the kitchen is kind of in their private house, it was never a problem to use it and they werent bothered at all. The rooms were clean and there were hammocks. I had to ask for their cable to use internet bc my laptop is a bit shitty and they offered me their help without hesistation.
    Elvina
    tw

    Review score

    9.6
    11 July 2017

    Super stay!

    The staff are super nice and gave us great recommendations for tours. The room is really clean and it's close to the Main Street.
    Floeber
    nl

    Review score

    10
    30 March 2017

    Great stay

    We only stayed here for one night, but the staff was really kind. Spacious, clean rooms. Location near the big street with all the restaurants, but in a quiet place.
    Joan
    ar

    Review score

    9.2
    18 March 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    VASILIOS
    gr

    Review score

    8.8
    2 March 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    de

    Review score

    7.5
    15 February 2017

    Clean budget hostal in central location

    Wifi did not work well in the room.
    Convenient location, basic but clean rooms.
    Michael Sigman
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    23 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Charles
    us

    Review score

    7.9
    5 December 2017

    Good value. Near city centre. Laundry and market close by.

    WiFi in room was inadequate.
    us

    Review score

    7.9
    6 July 2017

    Great little place for a night before the river.

    Nothing fancy. Bed was a bit saggy.
    We arrived late and check-in was super smooth. The owners are extremely nice and live on the property for any issues. Super close to everything in town. Only stayed one night. Big rooms for 2 families. Great price.
    ec

    Review score

    7.5
    22 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    brian
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    25 March 2017

    Close to the heart of Tena

    No complaints!
    Situated off Tena's main street, the Hostal Austria was quiet and comfortable.
    Dale
    ca

    Review score

    8.3
    22 February 2017
    Staff very friendly, very helpful in getting a cab for us. Did not know about breakfast at this hotel.
Loading reviews